Skip Navigation
In search of the Higgs boson: H - ZZ

Hohlmann Research Group


Former Group  Members (and where they are now)


  • Prof. Laszlo Baksay


  • Dr. Stefano Colafranceschi (2015-18), CMS GEM upgrade, now an assistant professor at Eastern Mennonite University
  • Dr. Aiwu Zhang (2013-16), GEM R&D for EIC, now a research scientist at Brookhaven Nat'l Lab
  • Dr. Kondo Gnanvo (2007-11), GEM muon tomography, now a research scientist at U. Virginia


  • Dr. Gyöngyi Baksay (Ph.D. '05)
  • Dr. Vallary Bhopatkar (Ph.D. '17, now a post-doc with the ATLAS group at Argonne National Lab)
  • Dr. Klaus Dehmelt (Ph.D. '06, now a tenure-track Research Scientist at SUNY Stony Brook, NY)
  • Dr. Samir Guragain (Ph.D. '10, now a senior middleware engineer in Winston-Salem, NC)
  • Dr. Himali Kalakhety (Ph.D. '14, now a Physics Instructor)
  • Dr. Szabolcs Rembeczki (Ph.D. '09, now a software developer for Radar systems in Hungary)

M.S. (with thesis)

  • Afrouz Ataei (M.S. '16)
  • Bryant Benson (M.S. '11, Ph.D. '18 at UC Davis)
  • Lenny Grasso (M.S. '12, now a contract administrator at Northrop Grumman; previously a Physics Teacher at Eau Gallie HS)
  • Richie Hoch (M.S. '09 in CS, now a software engineer with General Dynamics)
  • Ankit Mohapatra (B.S. '14, scl 4.0, M.S. '15; now a web developer)
  • Amilkar Quintero (M.S. '10, Ph.D. '16 at Kent State U. on the STAR experiment at BNL's RHIC; now a post-doc on EIC at Temple U., Philadelphia)
  • Marion Ripert (M.S. '05, Ph.D. student in Acceler. Physics at Heidelberg U.)
  • Jordan Robertson (M.S. '14, now a sys. admin. at NASA Goddard)
  • Mike Staib (M.S. '12, Ph.D. '17 at Carnegie-Mellon, now with Intel Corp.)


  • Mike Abercrombie (B.S. '11, Ph.D. '16 in physics at Washington U., St. Louis; now systems engineer at Boeing Space Surveillance Complex, Maui, Hawaii)
  • Sarah Arends (B.S. '19, now a graduate student in CS at FIT)
  • Will Bittner (B.S. '12, formerly a software developer with IBM in Cambridge, MA, deceased)
  • Jacob Chesslo (B.S. '20)
  • Robert Damadeo (B.S. '06, now a physicist with NASA contractor SSAI)
  • Kim Day (B.S. '14, now an engineer at Google)
  • Xenia Fave (B.S. '11 scl 4.0, Ph.D. '17 in Medical Physics at U. of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX)
  • Johanna-Laina Fischer (B.S. '12, Ph.D. at U. Penn)
  • Miguel Gutierrez (B.S. '20, now Ph.D. student at u. Chicago)
  • Eric Hansen (B.S. '14, now an engineer at Northrop Grumman)
  • Jennifer Helsby (B.S. '08 scl, Ph.D. in Astrophysics at U. Chicago)
  • Jeremy Janney (B.S. '06, now an officer on nuclear submarines in the US Navy)
  • Georgia Karagiorgi (B.S. '04 scl, Ph.D. at MIT with experimental thesis on MiniBooNE at FNAL, now an assistant prof. at Columbia U.)
  • Shreeya Khanal (B.S. '14)
  • Nick Leioatts (B.S. '09, Ph.D. '14 U. of Rochester in Biophysics, post-doc at Max-Planck Institut, Goettingen, Germany; now at Raytheon)
  • J. Ben Locke (B.S. '11 scl 4.0, formerly a software engineer with Harris Corp. in Melbourne)
  • Angelo Lucciola (B.S. '18)
  • Jacqui Miksanek (B.S. '19)
  • Alfred Menendez (B.S. '10)
  • Nathan Mertins (B.S. '12, now a software engineer at B.A. Hamilton in Dayton, OH)
  • Thomas Moschoutis (B.S. '05, formerly M.S. student in Quantum Physics at KTH University in Stockholm, Sweden)
  • Omar Nour (B.S. '19)
  • Zach Paul (B.S. '19)
  • Rafael David Pena (B.S. '08, formerly with IT Dept., Intersil Corp.)
  • Eric Pereira (B.S. '19)
  • Mike Phipps (B.S. '14, now a Ph.D. candidate in physics at U. Illinois, Urbana-Ch.)
  • Julie Slanker  (B.S. '05 scl, dual M.S. in Physics & Pol. Sci from Texas A&M)
  • Julian Spring (B.S. '06, Ph.D. student in particle physics at Boston U.)
  • Arjun Trivedi (B.S. '04 in ECE, Ph.D. student in HEP at U. of South Carolina working on LHC experiment)
  • Jessie Twigger (B.S. '14, now an engineer at Northrop-Grumman, Melbourne)
  • Sara Walker (B.S. '05, Ph.D. in Astroparticle Physics at Dartmouth, post-doc at Georgia Tech, now an associate professor at Arizona State U.)
  • Tommy Walker (B.S. '20)
  • Kimberly Walton (B.S. '14)
  • Akshath Wikramanayake (B.S. '19)
  • Ryan Wojtyla (B.S. '19, now a computer scientist with US Navy)