Impressions Fine Arts - Fractals by FAVIO (Frank W. Milordi




Home Join FIP FIP Officers Elections Headlines Newsletter FIP Sessions Presentations Community Support Announcements Useful Links APS fellows Book Exchange Wheatley Award Meeting Pictures Archive From The Membership

back to

Wheatley Award


To honor and recognize the dedication of physicists who have made contributions to the development of physics in countries of the third world.


The Wheatley award was established in 1991 with the support of the Forum on International Physics and is endowed by gifts from Biomagnetic Technologies and IBM, and by individual donations in memory of John Wheatley. The award is given to a physicist, generally from a developed country, who, at personal or professional cost, goes to a less developed country and promotes significant physics there, as John Wheatley did in Argentina.

Rules and eligibility

The award is made to a physicist who, working in a developing country, has made an outstanding contribution to the development of physics in that region by working with local physicists in physics research of teaching. Nominations are open to physicists of all nationalities but the award will not be given to a person for work in his or her own country. Nominations are active for three years.

Past recipient

2005 Steven Manson

2003 Kennedy Reed

2001 Henry R. Glyde

1999 Ivan Schuller

1997 Manuel Cardona

1995 Galileo Violini

1993 Ismael Escobar

How to make a nomination

Consult the award announcement that appears in APS News, on the Prize and Awards page of the APS web site, or check the FIP Newsletter preceding the submission deadline.